

# **Local Contacts for Coastal Property Owners**

December 11th 2019

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is providing this list of local agencies and departments available to landowners within the Minnesota coastal area. These agencies are responsible for permitting and technical assistance relating to concerns about building, erosion, lake levels, and other issues relating to soils and water. The DNR will update it as it becomes aware of changes.

## **Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (MNDNR)**

# Region 2 Area Hydrologists, DNR Ecological and Water Resources DivisionCarlton & South St. Louis Counties

Patricia Fowler, Hydrologist
(218) 834-1442
patricia.fowler@state.mn.us
525 Lake Avenue South Duluth MN 55802

Cook and Lake Counties

Cliff Bentley, Hydrologist (218) 834-1441 cliff.bentley@state.mn.us 1568 Highway 2 Two Harbors, MN 55616 Carlton, Cook, Lake & South St. Louis Counties

Sam Martin, NE Region Support Hydrologist (218) 834-1442 sam.martin@state.mn.us 1568 Highway 2 Two Harbors, MN 55616

## **Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs)**

#### **Carlton County SWCD**

Brad Matlack, District Manager bradmatlack@carltonswcd.org Main office: (218) 384-3891 808 3<sup>rd</sup> Street Carlton, MN 55718

#### **Cook County SWCD**

Ilena Hansel, District Manager (218) 387-3648 Ilena.hansel@co.cook.mn.us Main office: (218) 387-3647 411 West 2<sup>nd</sup> Street Grand Marais, MN 55604

#### **Lake County SWCD**

Karen Tucker, Acting District Manager (218) 834-8370

karen.tucker@co.lake.mn.us Main office: (218) 834-8370

General inquires: swcd@co.lake.mn.us
408 First Avenue Two Harbors, MN 55616

#### **South St. Louis County SWCD**

R.C. Boheim, District Manager (218) 723-4629

rc.boheim@southstlouisswcd.org
Main office: (218) 723-4867

General inquires: info@southstlouisswcd.org 215 North 1st Street East, #301 Duluth, MN

55802

Note: Use Third Street entrance for visits

# **SWCD Technical Service Areas (TSA)**

#### **SWCD Technical Service Area III (TSA #3)**

Carlton, Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties

Assistance is arranged through your local SWCD.

Main office: (218) 723-4865 South St. Louis County SWCD

215 North 1st Street East, #301 Duluth, MN 55802

### **Local Planning Departments**

#### **Carlton County**

Heather Cunningham, Administrator
Zoning & Environmental Services
(218) 384-9174
heather.cunningham@co.carlton.mn.us
Main office: (218) 384-9176
301 Walnut Street Rm 103 Carlton, MN 55718

#### **City of Beaver Bay**

Tim Anderson, City Administrator (218) 226-3251 tganderson@lakenet.com 711 MacDonald Avenue Beaver Bay, MN 55601 Mail: PO Box 446 Beaver Bay, MN 55601

#### **City of Carlton**

Planning and Zoning
City Hall: (218) 384-4229
carlton@cityofcarlton.com
310 Chestnut Avenue Carlton, MN 55718
Mail: PO Box 336 Carlton, MN 55718

#### **City of Cloquet**

Al Cottingham, City Planner & Zoning Administrator (218) 879-2507 ext. 3 acottingham@cloquetmn.gov Main office: (218) 879-2507 101 14<sup>th</sup> Street Cloquet, MN 55720

#### **City of Duluth**

Planning and Development (218) 730-5580 planning@duluthmn.gov City Hall, Room 160 411 West First Street Duluth, MN 55802

#### **City of Grand Marais**

Mike Roth, City Administrator
Planning and Zoning Commission
(218) 387-1848
cityhall@grandmarais.city
P.O. Box 607 Grand Marais, MN 55604

#### **City of Hermantown**

Eric Johnson, Director
Community Development Department
(218) 729-3618
eric.johnson@hermantown.mn
City Hall: (218) 729-3600
5105 Maple Grove Road Duluth, MN 55811

#### **City of Silver Bay**

Planning and Zoning Commission City Hall: (218) 226-4408 7 Davis Drive Silver Bay, MN 55614

#### **City of Proctor**

Planning and Zoning Commission City Hall: (218) 624-3641 cityhall@proctormn.gov 100 Pionk Drive Proctor, MN 55810

#### **City of Rice Lake**

Carley Hungerford, Building Administrator (218) 249-0947
CarleyH@ricelakecitymn.com
4107 W Breyer Rd Duluth, MN 55803

#### **City of Two Harbors**

Justin Otsea, City Planner
Planning & Zoning
(218) 834-8833
jotsea@ardc.org
522 First Avenue Two Harbors, MN 55616

#### **Cook County**

Tim Nelson, Director
Land Services Department
Tim.nelson@co.cook.mn.us
Main Office: (218) 837-3630
411 West 2<sup>nd</sup> Street Grand Marais, MN 55604

#### **Duluth Township**

Sue Lawson, Planning Director
Planning and Zoning Commission
City Hall: (218) 525-5705
PlanningZoning@duluthtownship.org
6092 Homestead Road Duluth, MN 55804

#### Fond du Lac Reservation

Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Resource Management Tim Krohn, Land Information Manager (218) 878-7128 timkrohn@fdlrez.com 28 University Road Cloquet, MN 55720

#### **Lake County**

Christine McCarthy, Director Environmental Services (218) 834-8327 christinem.mccarthy@co.lake.mn.us 601 3<sup>rd</sup> Avenue Two Harbors, MN 55616

#### **Lakewood Township**

Shona Phipps, Administrator
Planning and Zoning
(218) 525-4991
zoningadmin@lakewoodmn.org
3110 Strand Avenue Duluth, MN 55803

#### **Midway Township**

Planning Commission
Town Hall: (218) 628-7135
midwaytwp@msn.com
3230 Midway Road Duluth, MN 55810

#### **St. Louis County**

Darren Jablonsky, Deputy Director Planning and Community Development (218) 725-5011 jablonskyd@stlouiscountymn.gov Main Office: (218) 725-5000 320 W 2<sup>nd</sup> Street, Suite 301 Duluth, MN 55802

#### **Town of Thompson-Esko**

(218) 879-971925 East Harney Road Esko, MN 55733

## **Local Planning Departments**

Not sure which department to call? Use this table to identify the local planning department responsible for your coastal community.

Local Municipality	Responsible Planning Department
Beaver Bay Township	*Lake County Planning & Zoning
Canosia Township	St. Louis County Planning & Community Development
City of Beaver Bay	*City of Beaver Bay
City of Carlton	City of Carlton Planning & Zoning
City of Cloquet	City of Cloquet Planning & Zoning

Local Municipality	Responsible Planning Department
City of Duluth	City of Duluth Planning & Zoning Department
City of Grand Marais	*City of Grand Marais Planning & Zoning Commission
City of Hermantown	City of Hermantown Community Development
City of Proctor	City of Proctor Planning & Zoning Commission
City of Rice Lake	City of Rice Lake Building & Zoning
City of Scanlon	City of Cloquet Planning & Zoning
City of Silver Bay	*City of Silver Bay Planning & Zoning Commission
City of Two Harbors	*City of Two Harbors Planning & Zoning
Cook County including East Cook and West Cook Unorganized Territories	*Cook County Land Services
Crystal Bay Township	*Lake County Planning & Zoning
Duluth Township	Duluth Township, Planning & Zoning Commission
Fond du Lac Reservation	Tribal and member owned fee lands: Fond du Lac Band Resource Management  Non-member fee lands: local government depending on municipal boundaries
Lake County including Unorganized Territories #1 and #2	*Lake County Planning & Zoning
Lakewood Township	Lakewood Township Planning & Zoning
Lutsen Township	*Cook County Land Services

Local Municipality	Responsible Planning Department
Midway Township	Midway Township Planning Commission
Schroeder Township	*Cook County Land Services
Silver Brook Township	Carlton County Zoning & Environmental Services
Silver Creek Township	*Lake County Planning & Zoning
Town of Thompson-Esko (Thompson Township)	Town of Thomson-Esko  **Carlton County Zoning & Environmental Services
Tofte Township	*Cook County Land Services
Town of Silver Creek	*Lake County Planning & Zoning
Twin Lakes Township	Carlton County Zoning & Environmental Services

<sup>\*</sup>North Shore Management Board Community

<sup>\*\*</sup>Within 300 ft of a classified river or within 1,000 ft of a classified stream within the coastal zone.